California Sexual Harassment Training
Long before the #MeToo movement, the Golden State has been a leader in addressing sexual harassment and discrimination in the workplace. In 2005, California passed AB 1825, requiring organizations with 50+ employees to provide supervisors with at least two hours of training on preventing sexual harassment. AB 2053 followed in 2015, which mandated that training include preventing abusive conduct, commonly known as bullying. In 2018, California enacted a new law, SB 1343, which expands sexual-harassment prevention training requirements and affects many more organizations.
For employers doing business in California – especially smaller businesses – SB 1343 represents a big change from AB 1825. Before January 1, 2021, California employers with five or more employees must provide two hours of interactive sexual harassment training to all supervisory employees, and at least one hour of interactive sexual harassment training to all nonsupervisory employees. New hires must receive training within six months of their start date.
In addition, organizations must train individuals within six months of their promotion to supervisory positions, and then retrain all supervisors and nonsupervisory employees every two years. Importantly, the training requirement applies to temporary and seasonal employees, who must complete sexual harassment training within 30 calendar days or 100 hours, if they will work less than six months.
Traliant’s California Edition of Preventing Discrimination and Harassment training complies with the state’s new requirements
Traliant’s online training course, California Edition of Preventing Discrimination and Harassment, complies with all the training requirements under California’s new workplace laws, enforced by the California Department of Fair Employment and Housing (DFEH). The web-based, interactive training is available in two versions: a one-hour (60 min.) course for employees, and a two-hour (120 min.) course for managers and supervisors.
This comprehensive course includes information and practical guidance on the federal and California state anti-harassment laws, and covers all the required topics and more, including sexual harassment and abusive conduct, preventing harassment based on gender identity, gender expression and sexual orientation, discrimination, retaliation, bystander intervention, diversity and inclusion and workplace civility.
What Our Customers Are Saying
“For our state-mandated Sexual Harassment and Discrimination training, we wanted something easy and affordable, but also entertaining and interactive for our employees. The Traliant Team was very responsive and helpful in setting up and implementing the training courses. They were there with us every step of the way.”
-Mindy Decker, HR Analyst, City of Ontario
Did you know? This course can earn you up to 2 hours of PDCs towards your SHRM recertification.
Get a Free Trial Today!
Sign up for a free trial of Traliant’s interactive training course, California Edition of Preventing Discrimination and Harassment.