Connecticut Sexual Harassment Prevention Training
Under a new state law, Connecticut employers must now provide sexual harassment prevention training to all employees, not just supervisors. This represents a significant change from prior training requirements. The Connecticut Commission on Human Rights and Opportunities (CHRO) enforces the new law, which requires organizations with three or more employees to provide all employees with two hours of training by February 9, 2021 (as extended by Executive Order). New employees hired on or after October 1, 2019 must be trained within six months of their start date.
Further, all Connecticut employers, regardless of their size, must provide two hours of sexual harassment training to supervisors by February 9, 2021 (as extended by Executive Order), or within six months of an employee assuming a supervisory role.
Traliant’s Preventing Discrimination and Harassment for Connecticut Employees
This two-hour, interactive course, tailored for Connecticut employees, covers all the topics outlined by CHRO and more. The training is divided into brief episodes, featuring video scenarios, real-world examples, viewer email and interactive assessments and challenges to promote engagement. A course-completion certificate is included.
Training topics include:
- Sexual harassment
- Sexual orientation and gender identity
- Bystander intervention
- Unconscious bias
- Protections under state laws
- Policies and procedures for handling complaints
- Building a positive culture
The Traliant Difference in Sexual Harassment Training
At Traliant, we believe that effective sexual harassment training is an essential part of a holistic approach to preventing workplace harassment and creating a respectful, inclusive culture. Our award-winning course complies with Connecticut’s training requirements in a modern, engaging format designed for today’s diverse, mobile workforce.
Which employers must provide sexual harassment training in Connecticut?
Under the Time’s Up Act, Connecticut employers with 3 or more employees must provide 2 hours of sexual harassment training and education to all employees. All Connecticut employers are required to provide 2 hours of sexual harassment training to supervisors.
The Connecticut Commission on Human Rights and Opportunities (CHRO) clarifies that as long as the employer has 3 or more employees at any location, those employees who are based in Connecticut must be trained. For example, if a company in Ohio has 15 employees and one is located in Connecticut, the company must provide sexual harassment training to the one Connecticut employee.
When must new employees in Connecticut receive the training?
All new employees are required to receive sexual harassment training within six (6) months of their start date.
How long must the training be?
Both supervisory and non-supervisory employees are required to complete at least two (2) hours of sexual harassment training.
What must be included in the content of the sexual harassment training?
The sexual harassment training must include information about state and federal laws that prohibit sexual harassment and remedies available for victims of sexual harassment. The training can be done in person or online if the format allows participants to ask questions and receive answers.
Among the topics to cover in the training include:
- An accurate description of all state and federal statutory provisions prohibiting sexual harassment in the workplace that apply to the employer
- A discussion of the different types of conduct that may constitute sexual harassment, which can happen to anyone, regardless of the gender of either the harasser or the person being harassed.
- Description of the remedies available for victims of sexual harassment if they file a complaints. These include, but are not limited to, back pay, front pay, attorney’s fees, compensatory damages and cease and desist orders.
- Penalties for individuals who engage in acts of sexual harassment.
- Discussion of strategies to prevent sexual harassment in the workplace
Traliant’s online sexual harassment training courses cover the topics mandated by state and local laws — and many others, such as different types of harassment and discrimination, bystander intervention, protection from retaliation, bullying and diversity and inclusion. Whether employees are working onsite, from home, or in a variety of locations, everyone can benefit from effective sexual harassment training that focuses on raising awareness, changing behaviors and fostering a safe, respectful, inclusive culture.
What are examples of sexual harassment?
- Examples of sexual harassment include:
- Unwelcome sexual advances
- Suggestive or lewd remarks
- Unwanted hugs, touches, or kisses
- Requests for sexual favors
- Retaliation for complaining about sexual harassment
- Derogatory or pornographic posters, cartoons or drawings
Must users of online sexual harassment training be able to ask questions?
Yes, the Commission on Human Rights and Opportunities issued new guidance clarifying that training needs to be “interactive” – that is, presented in a format that allows participants to ask questions and receive answers within a reasonable time period. For example, following the online training, there could be a live question and answer session. Or the employer may provide different ways for employees and managers to submit questions and receive answers within a reasonable period of time.
What are the training recordkeeping requirements in Connecticut?
The Commission on Human Rights and Opportunities has always encouraged employers to keep a log of training records for at least a year, though these records are not a requirement. Employer records should include information such as:
- Documentation that sufficiently shows the training content given, for example, the curriculum
- The sexual harassment training provider’s qualifications and contact information
- Names and titles of employees that receive training and the date or dates that each individual received the training.
What are Connecticut’s requirements for retraining employees on sexual harassment?
Employers must provide periodic supplemental training not less than every 10 years, however, more frequent training is encouraged. The Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) recommends regular, interactive, comprehensive training for all employees and managers.
Posting information about sexual harassment prevention
Connecticut law requires that employers with 3 or more employees post information that sexual harassment is illegal and remedies available to targets of sexual harassment. The information must be displayed in a prominent and accessible location. Connecticut employers must also provide a copy of the information concerning the illegality of sexual harassment and remedies available to targets of sexual harassment to each employee following no longer than 3 months after their start date.
Inspecting businesses to ensure compliance with sexual harassment prevention requirements
The Commission on Human Rights and Opportunities (CHRO) has the authority to enter an employer’s business location during working hours to ensure the employer is in compliance with posting information on preventing sexual harassment and sexual harassment laws. The CHRO representative can also review the employer’s records, policies, postings and sexual harassment training materials related to these posting and sexual harassment training requirements.
Expanded Anti-Retaliation Provisions
In addition to expanding sexual harassment training and posting requirements, employee protections have also been expanded. For example, suppose an employer takes corrective action in response to an employee’s claim of sexual harassment. In that case, the employer may not change the employee’s conditions of employment unless the employee agrees, in writing, to the modification. “Corrective action” taken by an employer includes, but is not limited to, employee relocation, assigning an employee to a different work schedule, or other substantial changes to an employee’s terms and conditions of employment.
*Disclaimer: This information should not be viewed as legal advice and is intended to provide general information on state laws, which are subject to change. Please consult your legal counsel for interpretation of the laws.
Did you know? This course qualifies for 2 hours of PDCs towards your SHRM recertification.
Get a Free Trial Today!
For a free trial of our interactive sexual harassment prevention training for Connecticut employees, please complete this form: